It has been a while since I’ve been actively blogging, and I’d like to get back to it. While my interests have taken a tangent into French poststructuralist philosophy, my life has been filled with changes. Currently, my wife and I and our two young boys (ages 3yrs, and 6mo) have moved to the shining city of Prague.

I got an english teaching certificate four years ago, but we didn’t have enough money to fund my trade license and our visas fell through, so now we’re back to give it another shot. Prague is an amazing city. The public transportation is far better than anything in America. Things are extremely cheap if you know what to shop for. And finding work (so far) seems pretty simple. We have been here for a month and a half, and we just had our visa interview, so fingers crossed!

Although my Czech is velmi špatný, many shopping centers are equipped with English speaking staff. The city is dotted with parks for our children, and the people are extremely kind (if you know how to be polite). I am still woefully distant from being able to pronounce the Czech ř, let alone their tongue twisters, tři třisíce třista třicet tři stříbrných stříkaček stříkalo přes tři tisíce třista třicet tři stříbrných střech (3333 silver fire-engines squirt over 3333 silver roofs.) But being able to at least say thank you (děkuji) and sorry (promiňte; or pardon) tends to cover a wide range of scenarios.

More updates to come…

 

 

Leave a Reply

